Reflecting on a Shared Book Experience

Please  respond to the following:

1.    What did you think about the Skype experience with Mrs. Levin’s and Mrs. McManus’s classes?  How did you like sharing what you thought about the book with other classes?   What was good about the Skype experience?  What could be better in the future?

2.   You were the first grade in the elementary schools to do a shared book over the summer.  Please write a few sentences about what you thought about having this book in common with your classmates coming into the new school year.  Was this a good pick for you all to read and why?

Your response is due on Wednesday, October 6th

28 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by EC5 on October 4, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    I thought fishbowl worked better than just standing in a big blob. I think it was better because we were sitting and we were raising our hand to talk to the Willard people.

    Reply

  2. Posted by EC18 on October 4, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I wasn’t there for the Skype to Mrs. McManus’s class, but I thought we should of been sitting like Mrs. Levin’s class, not standing in a big blob. I agree with what EC5 said. The Skype thing in general was good, I liked talking to other classes, I enjoyed seeing other kids that were just like me, reading the same book.

    Reply

  3. Skyping with Mrs. McManus I think was better than doing it with Mrs. Levins. I think we should have done the fishbowl instead of standing and trying to look at the camera on the computer. Also I could see when some people wanted to sit and talk, I could tell they where struggling just trying to get to the stool. And it was a lot quieter when we skyped with Mrs. McManus. Still it was fun to see the other kids from the other schools.

    Reply

  4. I thought it was more fun for all of us to read the book because we could talk about it more. I also thought it was one of the best books i’ve ever read. I also thought it was one of the most funny books I’ve ever read.

    Reply

  5. Posted by EC4 on October 4, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    When we were skyping with the kids from Alcott we asked them what they would think if Fudge got Dribble. They said that Dribble would be gone alot sooner. Then we asked the Willard kids what they thought, they said that Fudge would not eat his own turtle. I think it is cool that they both said totally different things.

    Reply

  6. Posted by ec15 on October 4, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    I think the skype experience with Mrs.Levin’s and Mrs.McManus’s went well I think it was good that we all read the same book because we could start a lot of great discussions and we could share what are favorite part in the book and why we like it I think this was a good pick for the class because we all are going in to the fourth grade

    Reply

  7. Posted by EC4 on October 4, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    I think that every fourth grader reading the same book over the summer was a good thing to do because having kids come into school when they have all read the same book is good becausewe can make story mountains, skype andlots of fun things.

    Reply

  8. Posted by ec1 on October 4, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    I thought it was more fun to do the fishbowl because we all got to participate.
    When I was up in the fishbowl I really wanted to see what they would think
    if Fugde won Dribble and not Peter.I also thought it was fun to all be reading the same book because then we can all share it,but if we had different books it wouldn’t be as fun.

    Reply

  9. Posted by ec9 on October 4, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    I think that skyping with the classes was good because we got to learn what other classes thought about the book and our questions. What I think was good was the fish bowl because the first time only one person was talking and for the fishbowl 4 people were talking so it was more like a conversation. I think sharing what we thought about the book was good because we got to hear what other people were wondering and what other people thought of our questions.

    Reply

  10. Posted by EC5 on October 4, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    I thought that being in a fishbowl was easier because it was a lot more calm. Being in a bunch was very hard because we were all in the group and mixed up. But at least the skypeing was amazing and interesting.

    Reply

  11. Posted by EC13 on October 5, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    I think skyping with Mrs. Mc Manus’s was better than with Mrs Levin’s.It was a good way to introduce yourselves and also it was good we sat in fishbowl .It was quiet and no one was in a hurry.

    Reply

  12. Posted by ec12 on October 5, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    I think that Mrs. Levin’s class’s way of doing it didn’t work that well because
    everyone was clumped around the compomter and Ms. McManus was beter than the last time.

    Reply

  13. Posted by ec11 on October 5, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    1. I thought that Skyping with other classes at different schools was really cool.I liked talking with them about Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing because we had all read the that book over the summer.I also thought it was cool seeing the other classes instead of just talking to them or writing to them.

    2. I thought it was cool reading the same book as everybody and knowing that when I got back to school everyone would be talking about the book.I thought the book was a good book for everyone to read because we were all going into fourth grade and Peter was in fourth grade but I don’t think the book was about fourth grade but more about a kid in fourth grade.

    Reply

  14. Posted by EC20 on October 5, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    1. I thought that the Skype experience with Mrs. Levin’s class was fun but I think it would have been better if we had done fish bowl because then we wouldn’t have had to all crowd behind the screen. With Mrs. McManus’s class I thought that it was also fun but maybe the fish bowl turns could have been shorter so kids could go more than once. Sharing the book was interesting because we could discuss our questions with the other class and see what they thought about them and answer some of their questions and share what we thought about them.

    2. I thought that having this book in common was good because we could discuss it and do lots of cool activities with it. Since it was an interesting book more kids enjoyed it and had more to share. I think this was a good book to pick because it is funny and shows how annoying some younger siblings can be which many kids can relate to. I also enjoyed the fact that each chapter is its own little story so you have a new adventure every chapter.

    Reply

  15. Posted by ec12 on October 5, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    And adding to my first comment I think when we skyped with Ms.McManus’s class it was easier because we did a fish bowl and we could see the screen. Back to comment two I think it was nice that we could talk about the same book when we got to the new school year !

    Reply

  16. Posted by ec14 on October 5, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    1. I think that skyping with Mrs. Levin’s class and Mrs. McManus’s class is a good way to share your thoughts about a book. I preferred the fish bowl way of talking because it was easier and more fun.

    2. I thought that reading Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing was a good choice because I think everyone thought it was funny and exciting. I think it was good because it was easy to understand too.

    Reply

  17. Posted by EC10 on October 5, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    I thought the experience with Ms Mc Manus’ class was better than Ms. Levins class because it was more organized than just being in a big cluster talking one by one and I liked that 2 people instead of 1 person because we could both talk but not at the same time and we could do it faster.

    Reply

    • Posted by EC10 on October 6, 2010 at 12:08 am

      To answer question 2, I think everyone thought the book was a good choice because it was really funny. It made me want to read Double Fudge.

      Reply

  18. Posted by EC18 on October 5, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    I thought it was nice coming into the school year all reading the same book. I think it was a good pick, it was about someone in fourth grade (Peter), he had an annoying younger sibling (most of us also have them), and the events were super funny! It made me want to read the rest of the series, and I doubt that I would of without reading ‘Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing.’

    Reply

  19. Posted by ec3 on October 5, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    1. I thought sharing ideas about the book was interesting because you get to know how people react to the book. It was a good experience because we did not get off topic we stayed on talking about the book. I think next time we could make answers to our questions so we can compare what we thought.

    2. I thought it was fun because I usually read by myself then I talk to my mom about the book but she has not read the book so she cannot tell me what were the good parts and bad parts. I like this because I hear what other people think of the story. I thought this was a good pick because it is about fourth grade and its troubles.

    Reply

  20. Posted by ec19 on October 5, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    1. I really liked Skyping with the other classes. I hope we could do it again. I think it would be better if we could have more people talking at once. I think I would like it more if we read the book in the summer because it was like home work in the summer. And it stopped me from reading my other books for a little while.

    2. I liked reading the same book as so many other people. I liked it because it was a funny book.

    Reply

  21. Posted by EC2 on October 5, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    1. I think that the skyping Mrs. McManus was alot better than skyping Mrs. Levin’s class because insted of being clumped in a large group and having an akwered conversation we were very neat and it was also better because there was another person with you.
    2. I think sharing a book over the summer was a great idea because if you wanted to talk with a friend about it they knew exactly what you were talking about. I think it was a great book because it was good for all reading levels.

    Reply

  22. Posted by ec21 on October 6, 2010 at 12:08 am

    I think the skype experience was better in fish bowl. I liked Skyping with people I knew in other classes. I liked everything. Next time we could sit in our seats until it was our turn.

    I liked reading the same book as other fourth graders. It was a good pick because it was funny and I liked it. Peter was in fourth grade like me.

    Reply

  23. Posted by ec9 on October 6, 2010 at 1:10 am

    I think reading over the Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing was a good idea because it made us read over the summer. I think reading the same book was a good idea because then we can talk about the book when we go to school and we can discuss the same book instead of us all discussing different books. I think Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing was not the best choice because most people like fantasy and it wasn’t fantasy and it didn’t have much action.

    Reply

  24. Posted by ec17 on October 6, 2010 at 1:18 am

    1. I liked skyping with the classes from the other schools in Concord because you can share your opinions with the other students in your grade by asking questions and having a conversations with them. I think we should keep doing the fish bowl because everybody gets about the same amount of time to talk to the other class.

    2. I think it was a good idea that we all read the same book because you could share your opinions with other people in our class and in other classes. I thought that the book, Tales of a Forth Grade Nothing, was just okay. It just did not inspire me or grab me into the book. I could easily put it down when someone interrupted me because it was not interesting.

    Reply

  25. Posted by EC-8 on October 6, 2010 at 2:02 am

    1. I thought the skype experience was great because our whole class had fun doing it. I liked asking other students about how they would feel being Peter. I learned that most kids wouldn’t want to be Peter, but that some kids would like it more then their own life. I thought the skype experience could be better if it could go on longer. Our time was too short.

    2. I think it was fun to all read the same book so we could all talk about it and know what other people were talking about. It was a good pick for me because it’s about a fourth grader and an older brother who has an annoying younger brother like me. I also thought it was pretty funny.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

