Big Maps!

I think Big Maps are a really great technique to get you to learn about different countries by creating these maps.  We also had a very interesting discussion involving these maps.  Looking at the map pictures, please answer the following questions:

Agriculture

1.  What did you learn about China by making your group’s map?  Please make sure you let us know what map your group made (population, climate, precipitation, tourism, agricultural, or physical)

Climate

2.  What did you learn about China by looking at other groups’ maps and making connections to your own map?

3.  What did you think about creating a Big Map?  What was easy for you?  What were the challenges in making these maps?

Population

Precipitation

Tourism

Pysical

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by EC5 on October 18, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    1. I thought the precipitation map was cool because it tells you that how many inches of rain fell in one square mile. We learned that in the Eastern part of China it rains a lot and in the Western part of China it rains a tiny bit.
    2. We learned that China has lots of crops. It really made sense how Chinese people plant crops in the Eastern part of China because it is the rainiest place. I also noticed that a lot of people live in the rainy spots.
    3. It was challenging because we lined it with permanent marker and it was our final draft. It was also stressful because we were coloring it with paint.

    Reply

  2. Posted by EC4 on October 18, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    1. My group made the agriculture map. We learned that all of the crops grow in the west, and most of the rice grows in the south. We also learned that almost all of the people in China grow some kind of crop.

    Reply

  3. Posted by EC4 on October 18, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    2. One big connection that we made was how we figured out almost all of the people in China grow some kind of crop. We looked at the population map and we figured out that most people live in the west and that is where all of the crops grow.

    Reply

  4. Posted by EC4 on October 18, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    3. overall I thought making the maps was hard. I thought this because it was hard to stay in the lines, trace everything exact, and put the crops (seeds) in the right place. The one thing I think we could have done to make it easier that we should not have put all the glue down at once so we did not have to go so fast.

    Reply

  5. Posted by EC13 on October 18, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    1. Our group made the tourism map,I learnt that most of the tourist attractions were on the east side because the capital is over there and also there are many rivers on that side

    2. Well by looking at other groups maps all the other stuff is also on the east side.

    3. It was a fun way of learning..&cutting and sticking ikons was hard.

    Reply

  6. Posted by EC18 on October 18, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    1. Our group made the agriculture map. I learned that all of the crops grow in the west. None grow in the east. There was a Winter Rice, and a Spring Rice. We found out that they grew in their season (winter rice = winter, spring rice = spring).
    2. Since our map was the agriculture map, we looked at the percipitation map, and we found out that a lot of the rain rains down in the western side. That answered our question about why the crops only grew on the western side. We also looked on the popularity map, and all the people were on that side, too. At least most of them. The people are probably there because all the crops are there, so all the food is there, so all the people are attracted to the food.
    3. I thought making a Big Map was fun. There was a challenge when we were painting over the rivers a lot, but we solved it by going over them again. I thought that the sponging was easy, but like I said, we were painting over the rivers a little bit.

    Reply

  7. Posted by ec15 on October 18, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    1. I learned that in China most of the people live in Biejing, closest to the rivers. I was in the population map of China.
    2. I learned by looking at other peoples maps and my map that in the China precipitation map there’s a part thats all desert and on my map that desert part is uninhabited because it’s desert
    3. I thought that creating these maps was really hard because the map I did had all these parts that had a tiny amount of that color and there was a lot of those parts what was easy about making these maps was doing the write up for me because the map I did was China population and the write up for that was easy because I did why a lot of people live there or why so few people live there

    Reply

  8. Posted by EC7 on October 18, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    1. I did the Agriculture map. I learned that in the eastern part of China all the crops are grown there. There are no crops in the western part of China.

    2. I learned that where there are no crops on the Agriculture map and is a desert of the Culture map and is where no crops grows and where no people live. It also has a very low chance of precipitation in the same place where there are no people or crops.

    3. Creating the maps was not hard but not simple. It was hard because we stared to paint over the rivers. We solved it by painting over the rivers but drawing them again. It was simple because it was easy to glue the crops on and paint the open spaces on the map. v

    Reply

  9. Posted by ec12 on October 19, 2010 at 12:20 am

    1. My map was persipatashtion and I notisted that there was a area above the goibe desert with high persipation . me and my group figered out that the area we saw was a range of montans that blocked the gobie from geting any rain!

    Reply

  10. Posted by EC11 on October 19, 2010 at 12:48 am

    1. I did the Tourist Attraction map and I noticed that most of the attractions were in the eastern part of China. There are some in the western part of China but definitely not as many as in the eastern part of China.

    2. Looking at the Agriculture map, I learned that all of the crops are in the east just like the tourism map and also looking at the precipitation map, there was a lot of rain in the east and all of the others are connected in some way.

    3. I thought that making the big maps was fun because we got to sponge pant and we got to work together on them. I liked putting the icons on in their places. I think that all of them turned out really well.

    Reply

  11. Posted by ec19 on October 19, 2010 at 1:22 am

    1. I did the precipitation map. In one area there is no precipitation, but right next to that area is very high precipitation. I think there were mountains in that high precipitation area. So I learned that right next to an area with no precipitation there can be a lot of precipitation and that most of the precipitation is in the southern half of China.

    2. Comparing our map to other maps, our precipitation map shows that one half of China has most of the precipitation and the populatoin density map shows that most of the population is in the same half of the map that has most of the precipitation. that’s probably because it is better to live where there is more water. The industry and agriculture map shows that there are more crops in the half with precipitation and population. And on the tourist attractions map the half with precipitation, population and crops there are also more tourist attractions.

    3. I really liked making the maps. It was easy because it was just copying the map Ms.Erickson printed out for us. But the challenges were painting in small areas or corners without painting over the line.

    Reply

  12. Posted by ec1 on October 19, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    1.From doing big maps I learned that most of the people live in the southeastern
    part of China,In fact most western parts of China are inhabitated.

    2.From looking at other people’s maps we learned that all the inhabitated
    parts are deserts.

    3.For my group it was very hard because there were so many places with twists
    and change of colors we couldn’t manage to get it straight.

    MY GROUP WAS POPULATION DENSITY

    Reply

  13. 1. I learned that there are tons of rivers in China and really big ones too.

    2. I learned that where the mountains are, its not as cold as i thought it would be. I thought it was interesting that part of the Himalayas are medium temperature.

    3. It was fun and easy for me and I had some challenges trying to paint with just a small sponge.

    Reply

  14. Posted by ec9 on October 19, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    1. I learned that the climate of China (which is the map I worked on) that the best climates for living are in the East because the climates in the East are warmer. I also learned that China has cold Climates in the West and North East.

    2. I made a conection to the population map that more people live in the warmer climates. I also thought it was weird that in China there are places with no population.

    3. I liked making the maps because it was a challenging and we got to use paint. But I would of liked it better if the maps were even bigger and we all got to paint at the same time.

    Reply

  15. Posted by ec14 on October 19, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    1. I made the physical map of china with Jack and Jack. While making the big maps I learned that there is a desert in the northern part of china that is called the Gobi Desert and that there are a lot of rivers.
    2. I learned that where china is most populated the average annual temperature is 24 degrees Celsius. I also noticed that nobody lives in the desert and there is 0 precipitation in the desert.
    3. I thought the big maps were fun but painting the thin parts got a little bit hard and the wide parts got esey.

    Reply

  16. Posted by EC20 on October 19, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    1. I learned from making the precipitation map that China
    has a wide range of precipitation from 0in to over 59in. I also
    learned that the southern part of China has the heaviest precipitation and the northern part has the least.

    2.I noticed that in parts of China where there is no population or very little, there is about 3.9in of rain or less. Another connection that I made is that where there is crops there tends to be quite a bit of rain fall. Where the the line of crops stop being grown is about where the precipitation starts to drop.

    3.I thought that creating a Big Map was fun because we
    could learn more about China’s landscape, weather and agriculture. Things that were easy for me were sponge painting and tracing the outline of the rivers
    and China.The challenges in making this map were finding
    where the colors were on the small printed map and
    outlining them on the map.

    Reply

  17. Posted by EC-8 on October 19, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    1) In my group (the population density) we learned that most people live in the east side of China.

    2) I learned that most of the population is where there is lots of food growing. I also learned that China’s people live where there is high precipitation. Most people in China live in the lowlands and hills.

    3) Creating the big map was pretty hard because our group wasn’t working together, and it was hard to get all the colors in their place really well.

    Reply

  18. Posted by EC6 on October 19, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    1.My group was the physical map group and we learned most of the major cities are located on lowlands. I also learned China is mostly lowlands and plateau.

    2.I looked at the population map and noticed that it is densely populated in the lowlands. I also learned it is almost deserted (or deserted entirely ) in the Tibetan plateau.

    3. I thought making a big map was fun but because I learned a lot about China’s landscape and many other things. I did the sponge painting and outlining with ease, but I had trouble with recreating the small map and let’s just say I wasn’t the best while working with small spaces.

    Reply

  19. Posted by ec21 on October 20, 2010 at 12:07 am

    1 I was in the climate group I learned that western part of china is the hottest.

    2) I learned that most of the crops in China grow in the hottest part of China.

    3 I loved making maps because we got to use our finger.

    Reply

  20. Posted by EC2 on October 20, 2010 at 12:12 am

    Our group was the climates map and 3 things that I learned from it are…

    1. That China has a huge range of temperatures from below 0 Celsius to around 25 Celsius.
    2. Most of the rivers are in the warmer climates.
    3. And all of the islands off of China are some of the hottest places in there.

    Connections from our group to others.

    1. Almost all of the major cities in China are in the warmer climates in the south-east of China.
    2. Most of the precipitation is in the warmer areas of China.
    3. Most of the people in China are around the south-east part of China witch is the warmer area and even though China is the most populated country it’s even smaller than the U.S.A.

    I thought that it was hard to make the maps because to get the colors in the right place was quite hard and understand them. But other wise it was fun.

    Reply

  21. Posted by ec3 on October 20, 2010 at 12:31 am

    1. I made a tourist attraction map of China. Most of the attractions are found in the south east and only a few are in the west. I learned, the entire tourist attractions are spread out on the map and some of the attractions are on islands.
    2. On the agriculture map I saw most of the crops are on the eastern part of China. On the physical map most of the attractions are on lowland.
    3. Some of the challenges were sticking down the little pictures we had to cut out little pictures from our printed map. Getting the names where hard to we copied names and some of the names where too small for us to see.

    Reply

  22. Posted by ec17 on October 20, 2010 at 12:54 am

    1) My group and I did the agriculture map. I noticed that they grow a lot of crops on the eastern side of China. I also noticed that the rivers are not really in the northwest.

    2) I noticed that a lot of people live in the part of China where they grow their crops. Where the crops grow there is at least 3.9 inches of precipitation. I leaned that in some places in China no people live.

    3) My challenges were trying to not go over the rivers and the boundries while painting. The easy thing for me was putting on the crops. I thought making the maps was a good idea because it showed us different things about China like the precipitation and the climates and people population.

    Reply

  23. Posted by EC10 on October 20, 2010 at 12:54 am

    1. My group did the climate map and I learned that China is really cold in the northwestern part and pretty warm in the eastern part.

    2. Most of the population and the big cities of China were in the warm areas. Almost all the crops grew in the eastern part which was also warm.

    3. I think that the big maps were fun because we got to use sponge painting and learn about how it was different from USA. I think the challenge was painting the small areAs with the sponge.

    Reply

  24. Posted by ec12 on October 20, 2010 at 1:11 am

    2. From the popashshoin map,the indster map,tourest and persipatashtion I leared that most of chinia ever thing almost is on the easter sea boared .Because that is where all the rain is. So that where the farms are and two thireds of the chinianess popalashoin are farmers so that is where the citys are because most of the popalashon is that is where most ever thing is !

    3. I am very bad at spodge painting. I went over all of the details like the litte patches which the area around them was gold not blue.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

