A Writer’s Retreat

 

Room 305b's Retreat Spot on the Banks of the Assabet River

We are lucky to have our own retreat down at the River’s Edge.   On the banks of the Assabet River, you have created beautiful journal entries and some great poetry.  Henry David Thoreau, certainly had his own “retreat” in his little cabin at Walden Pond.  There, he created one of the most famous pieces of writing, “Walden”.   Later this week, we will be traveling to the Peabody Essex Museum to visit the Yin Yu Tang house as well as the new exhibit “The Emperor’s Private Paradise: Treasures from the Forbidden City.”  We will learn that the Emperor Qingalong created this incredible Tranquility and Longevity Palace Garden as a spot for him in his retirement to entertain, write, and think.  Over his life time, he wrote over 40,000 poems.

To get us in the right mindset as we head to the Emperor’s Retreat on Thursday, for tonight’s entry, you will be traveling to deep inside China’s interior to a beautiful place that was completely unknown until the 1970s. Known as Fairyland Paradise, this area has

China's Fairyland Paradise

pristine lakes and streams, towering mountains, and forests left untouched by man.  It’s the perfect poet’s retreat.

Become open bowl.  After watching the BBC video clip Wild China: Fairyland Paradise, imagine that you are spending a day there.  Write a journal entry from a poet’s point of view and be sure to include a poem.  This entry should be done on a word processing document first and carefully edited before you post.  It will be due on Wednesday.

 

46 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by EC18 on December 13, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Journal Entry
    I sit here on the edge of the water. Fish dart around in the beautiful clear water. The waterfall dances down and the current runs at fast as a cheetah. Odd looking coral seems like crystals. The water shimmers, sparkles, and shines. The water gleams, glimmers, and glints. Twinkles, winks, and flashes. The water is amazing.

    I sit here on the edge of the water and turn around. I look at the beautiful plants. The flowers, the trees, and the ground. Flowers sway in the wind, flower buds burst from bushes. Small leaves, big leaves, different shapes, different colors, red, yellow, green, all different and special. With all of the different colors and shapes, the landscape looks a little bit like a quilt. I can’t believe that this is real.

    I sit here on the edge of the water and be quiet and listen. Sounds twirl, whirl, swirl. Turn, twist. All the way over to me. Birds sing, chirp. Cheep, peep. Singing all of their happiness. You can hear all of that in a single peep. A single note.

    I sit here on the edge of the water and think. You can’t get out how beautiful this place is in writing. It’s a little like a nature palace. I sit here on the edge of the water and stare. This is a one of a kind place.

    Poem 1
    The water is beautiful, shimmering, shining.
    The water is dancing, laughing with me.
    The water is home of animals, fish, coral.
    The water is here, right now, with me.

    Poem 2
    The sounds are different, peeps, water.
    The sounds are pretty, songs, peaceful.
    The sounds are a part of nature, water, birds.
    The sounds are in my heart, I’m singing too.

    Poem 3
    A beautiful place.
    Leaves, flowers, bushes, trees, nature.
    A beautiful place.
    Waterfalls, a lake, the sound of rushing water, nature.
    A beautiful place.
    Peeps, cheeps, singing, nature.
    A beautiful place.
    I’m glad I’m here now.

    Reply

  2. The river is as blue as the clear sky. The trees are asleep, wishing never to be woken. The mountains are natural sky scrapers but taller than all others. The clouds are floating away, wishing not to disturb anything. I see trees that have died in the water, being as useful as if they were alive. Flowers bloom bright yellow, winning the award for the most cheerful thing I see.

    I see birds conducting a song as beautiful as sunshine. I see fish racing against the water, effortlessly winning. I see bird hatchling’s learning to fly but having trouble. I look far beyond from where I am and see the most peace, best place in the world but know I will have to leave it one day.

    I drift into the world of nature

    The world of birds

    The world of trees

    The world of water

    The world of fish

    But never to be the world of mine.

    Reply

  3. Posted by EC13 on December 13, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Journal Entry of Mehak 12/13/2o1o.

    We are so lucky to have this beautiful nature surrounding us.
    The mighty mountains.
    The flowing waterfalls.
    The green plants.
    The chirping birds.
    The azure sky.
    The bright sun.
    The soft,green grass.
    The fierce animals.
    The docile animals.
    &
    The puffy,fluffy clouds.
    All these things are all here for us.
    If we take a deep step into this world and seek what is around us we would notice all what is on this earth.Everything…
    POEM

    I trek and I trek
    till I am at the white,snowy peak.
    And stare at the land below my eyes.
    The mighty mountains which stand on guard.
    The water falls, each drop pushing the other drop out of the way.
    The fluffy clouds floating gracefully in the blue sky.
    The chirping birds singing their sweet summer song.
    The soft green trees swaying their gentle leaves and blossoming flowers from side to side.
    And that was the last glance I took and was off…

    Reply

  4. Posted by ec11 on December 13, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    Journal Entry
    The rushing water tumbles over and over each rocky step.
    Small plants stick out of the water like hands about to grab anything that crosses its path.
    The water hangs down the waterfall like a bathrobe that is hung up on a hook. It drips like icicles off of the hanging rocks.
    I see the colorful leaves in the mirror that has always been there but not many people have noticed it close enough to see a mirror. Next to me in the water I see the snow white sand lined with rocks and what not. I see a cozy bed in that sand and want to lay down to rest but I know that I can’t.
    The birds make a beautiful song in my heart and my heart beat accompanies it with a faint thump.
    In the shallow, clear water I see fish that shoot across the sand like shooting stars. They swim in their own world, alone, quiet, peaceful.
    I am in the perfect paradise. The time has seamed to stop, water flows swiftly and calmly, and my brain and I are alone, by ourselves.

    Poem
    The trees hang above me like arms
    Swooping down to hug me
    The water flows below me like a blanket
    Soft and free
    I keep this paradise in my head forever and never let it go

    Reply

  5. Posted by ec19 on December 14, 2010 at 12:23 am

    Journal Entry:

    I live on a wonderful retreat place. My small cabin lies along a mountain surrounded by others. I can look down at the steep slope and wonder what life down there was like. The mountains in my retreat place scrape against the sky of China. It has a large body of water surrounded by a forest that was untouched by people. The water is crystal clear and I can see the bottom. The bottom is practically a forest with lots of fish, there is a species of fish that is unique to these links. There are also lots of plants there, plant of many kinds. There are white water falls on this retreat place towering down past the trees surrounding them, like they’re racing each other and the winner gets the best prize in the world.

    Poem(s):

    The graceful fish

    A magnificent species of fish dart in every direction below me
    They flow gracefully above the plants
    Living at the bottom of the water
    Fluttering their tails and moving slowly
    They pass each other without a little wave
    Their home is my retreat place

    The Mountains of My Home

    A steep slope scrapes the sky
    Surrounded by the others
    With grass climbing its bumpy trails
    White clouds touching my home
    I live in a forest of mountains

    Reply

  6. Posted by ec14 on December 14, 2010 at 12:27 am

    As I watch the sparkling water I can’t believe the color of it and how the ripples in it makes everything look like they are dancing. I look out onto the far away mountaintops as the water of a river flows by. I also watch the misty waterfall in the background. It made me feel calm looking at the flowing water falling over the edge.

    As I write in my notebook I listen to the birds sing and wonder what they are saying? I watch the fish that are unique to this lake, I watch them swim about in their underwater home with all the coral twisting around them.

    MY POEM:
    As I watch the sparkling blue water I see fish swim in the coral
    The coral flows with the steady pace of the water
    And the water moves with the speed of the wind.

    Reply

  7. Posted by ec15 on December 14, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Journal entry
    Today I went to the Fairyland Paradise it was a bueatiful place there was amazing waterfalls I saw a bunch of fish water was also amazing different colors it was a nice peaceful place a perfect place to write a poem so I did.

    The water rushes down
    Fish swim by
    The water a clear light blue
    And in other places different colors.

    Thats the poem I wrote I would have done more poems or writing but I had to leave early.

    I came back just in time to see the sun set it was getting darker by the minute so I had to leave now and I new what I was going to dream about going back and writing as much poems I can so I couldn’t wait for tomorrow.

    Reply

  8. Posted by EC-8 on December 14, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    A Writer’s Retreat

    As I look into the crystal clear water, I see fish swimming around the algae like two kids playing chase around a pole.
    When I look at the mountains, the fog swirls around them like a whirlpool. Waterfalls drop between rocks making an
    image of an ancestor’s beard. The trees’ beauty is reflected in the crystal clear lake. The trees and sky have a rainbow of
    colors making the lake shimmer with color.

    A Poem
    As I look at the mountains,
    Mist soars around them
    Making pictures in the sky.
    When I turn around
    I see a water fall
    That is like an old man’s beard.

    Reply

  9. Journal entry

    I sit there I look into the water, I see a parallel universe.I jump into the water and explore the wonders of the lake.I swim with the school of fish in the flooded forest.I soon get out of the water and trek the quiet riverbank.
    I trek trek until I reached the swiveling current of the waterfall
    I look down at the misty fall.
    I look around me,I see everywhere flooding with green and gray but also a trickle of white.
    I start to trek further I come to the tip of the highest mountain there,I look around,I see the water fall I was just at.Soon it becomes dark and I go for the day.

    Poem 1

    The water is shimmering,
    The water is glistening,
    The water is calming,
    The water is soothing.

    Poem 2

    The colors are bending,
    The colors are blending,
    The colors are inviting,
    The colors are singing.

    Reply

    • Great job EC1! I like how you said ‘I sit there I look into the water, I see a parallel universe’. It is good because I can see what you are describing.

      Reply

  10. Journal Entry

    I sit like a rock on the edge of the water, still like a mountain. The little fish swim around the funny-looking coral, right beneath my feet in the crystal-clear water. The waterfall plunges down like a huge streamer, white and blue, and inside the water is the teal of a robin’s egg, pulling out the sandy color of the coral.

    I walk by the mountains, full of green everywhere except for a few trees of red, orange, and yellow. The white hats of some stand out, while the colorful leaves of others blend in with everything else.

    Poem

    The fog blows,

    The fish swim,

    The water flows,

    The falls drop down,

    The leaves tremble,

    And I sit and watch

    Reply

  11. Journal Entry

    The fish are sweeping through the water not missing a thing, weaving expertly through the rock and coral.
    I see the waterfall maneuvering around the rocks like a snake and then pouncing down in to the lake.

    The brown, yellow, red and orange leaves reminding me of the cold days to come and I must go soon back to a nice warm fire.

    Poem

    Fish like watchdogs,

    Clouds gathering,

    Water falling,

    Pen scratching,

    Just me and the lake.

    Reply

  12. A Writer’s Retreat

    Journal Entry of EC7:

    As I park my body on the edge of the Fairyland Paradise, I see little fish dashing to the coral. Gazing in the light blue sky, I hear a bird’s vast happy voice cheeping down at me. I look over to the waterfalls and noticed that the water was darting to the bottom as if someone was after it.

    When I turn around I see a whole new world. Instead of gleaming water I see a colorful world of trees and plants. When I look at the trees I see them dancing to the beat of the wind. When I look at the leaves I see a new rainbow of colors. Red brown and yellow are the colors I see on the leaves. I will never forget the day I made a visit to Fairyland Paradise.

    Poem(s)

    Waterfalls
    The Waterfall glimmers
    The Waterfall shines
    The waterfall glistens
    I act like it’s all mine

    The Pond

    The Pond flows
    The Pond streams
    The Pond drifts
    Like it’s all a dream

    Reply

  13. I stare into the emerald water. I watch a fish ride a wave like it is a chariot, I can imagine that fish saying, I am the king of the sea. The coral is a big corn maze found under water, lines and lines of ever lasting plant. The sky settles down and pushes its eyes fast asleep for some well deserved rest. The sun comes up; it showers the sky with orange, leaf yellow and puffy pink. The sky is like a canvas being painted by the sun.

    Poem

    I am the king of the sea
    Bask in my presents
    Watch as I rule the waters
    Watch me ride a wave
    I am the king of the sea
    Bask in my presents

    Reply

  14. Posted by EC20 on December 15, 2010 at 1:04 am

    My Journal Entry is:
    I sit here on the mountain admiring the land around me.
    The river is tearing through the carved path between
    the mountains far below me. Today it is sunny, with clouds far
    of in the distance. Sunlight pours through the windows
    of my house warming me down to my skin.
    The prickly forest at the bottom of the river traps fish in a maze as they dart in and out. In the distance I see the lurking clouds over other higher mountain peaks, that are itching for the clouds to break loose and for the sun to shine through.

    My poem is:
    Sun light floods the earth with happiness,
    glistening rivers are like mirrors mimicking natures every move.
    Fish dart in and out of the underwater forest,
    clouds far away look ready to burst,
    Paradise is here to fill my heart with happiness.

    Reply

  15. Posted by EC10 on December 15, 2010 at 1:08 am

    Journal Entry

    I sit by the teal water as the fish swirl in and out of the branchy yellow vines twisting through the water bed. The big trees, with all their unique colors sway out above me like their protecting me from the sun. The waterfall flows down into the half empty bowl, splashing the other water up then down. I hear the flow rumble and tumble falling down the ledge.

    Poem

    As the moving clouds pass on to go a mile away I daze at them like I just lost my mind and those white puffballs were a big important thing, like for that 2 minutes they were everything in the world. Then I look down at the water and see a fish staring up at me with his big brown eyes then swims away into the shadows of the pond.

    Reply

  16. Posted by EC4 on December 15, 2010 at 1:11 am

    Today in Fairyland Paradise by EC4

    I sit here on this nice quiet peak in fairyland paradise. I stare at the beautiful views of the mountains and trees below. The innocent rivers flow down amazing banks as they travel through the forest peacefully rushing farther and farther until it reaches a grand waterfall. Nice clear springs sit there like mirrors to the trees on the banks above. The birds chirp a pattern like a tune or a song and the under-water forest is filled with beautiful wildlife.

    The Mountain by EC4
    You quietly sit down and hear the birds chirping.
    You look at the river,
    You look at the ground.
    After a moment you stop.
    You look up at the clouds.
    And finally your eyes rest on…
    The Mountain.

    Reply

  17. Posted by ec12 on December 15, 2010 at 2:00 am

    As I gaze at the mountain it looks like it is being lit on fire by the rays the morning sun. The trees look like the sting of the Hawaiian Islands going on from the coast of Siberia to 1000 miles of the coast of South America each fighting to stay on the surface. The water fall look as if they where a city of towers cared into the rock over flowing with water. The lake looks a painting that will reflect its surroundings in their true beauty.
    Under the water there are trees covered in algae like dead emperors bodes covered jade in there tomb. It looks like a whole new world with mountains, Valleys Rivers and seas made of algae this world people the fish. The algae make a huge fish lost in space and time.
    Poem
    The world of fish is truly a heaven that we will never access it is a city of amber shining in the water.
    A perfect city where each and every living thing is accounted for.
    The true beauty of this city is contain in its self
    As I gaze at the mountain it looks like it is being lit on fire by the rays the morning sun. The trees look like the sting of the Hawaiian Islands going on from the coast of Siberia to 1000 miles of the coast of South America each fighting to stay on the surface. The water fall look as if they where a city of towers cared into the rock over flowing with water. The lake looks a painting that will reflect its surroundings in their true beauty.
    Under the water there are trees covered in algae like dead emperors bodes covered jade in there tomb. It looks like a whole new world with mountains, Valleys Rivers and seas made of algae this world people the fish. The algae make a huge fish lost in space and time.
    Poem
    The world of fish is truly a heaven that we will never access it is a city of amber shining in the water.
    A perfect city where each and every living thing is accounted for.
    The true beauty of this city is contain in its self
    As I gaze at the mountain it looks like it is being lit on fire by the rays the morning sun. The trees look like the sting of the Hawaiian Islands going on from the coast of Siberia to 1000 miles of the coast of South America each fighting to stay on the surface. The water fall look as if they where a city of towers cared into the rock over flowing with water. The lake looks a painting that will reflect its surroundings in their true beauty.
    Under the water there are trees covered in algae like dead emperors bodes covered jade in there tomb. It looks like a whole new world with mountains, Valleys Rivers and seas made of algae this world people the fish. The algae make a huge fish lost in space and time.
    Poem
    The world of fish is truly a heaven that we will never access it is a city of amber shining in the water.
    A perfect city where each and every living thing is accounted for.
    The true beauty of this city is contain in its self
    As I gaze at the mountain it looks like it is being lit on fire by the rays the morning sun. The trees look like the sting of the Hawaiian Islands going on from the coast of Siberia to 1000 miles of the coast of South America each fighting to stay on the surface. The water fall look as if they where a city of towers cared into the rock over flowing with water. The lake looks a painting that will reflect its surroundings in their true beauty.
    Under the water there are trees covered in algae like dead emperors bodes covered jade in there tomb. It looks like a whole new world with mountains, Valleys Rivers and seas made of algae this world people the fish. The algae make a huge fish lost in space and time.
    Poem
    The world of fish is truly a heaven that we will never access it is a city of amber shining in the water.
    A perfect city where each and every living thing is accounted for.
    The true beauty of this city is contain in its self
    As I gaze at the mountain it looks like it is being lit on fire by the rays the morning sun. The trees look like the sting of the Hawaiian Islands going on from the coast of Siberia to 1000 miles of the coast of South America each fighting to stay on the surface. The water fall look as if they where a city of towers cared into the rock over flowing with water. The lake looks a painting that will reflect its surroundings in their true beauty.
    Under the water there are trees covered in algae like dead emperors bodes covered jade in there tomb. It looks like a whole new world with mountains, Valleys Rivers and seas made of algae this world people the fish. The algae make a huge fish lost in space and time.
    Poem
    The world of fish is truly a heaven that we will never access it is a city of amber shining in the water.
    A perfect city where each and every living thing is accounted for.
    The true beauty of this city is contain in its self
    As I gaze at the mountain it looks like it is being lit on fire by the rays the morning sun. The trees look like the sting of the Hawaiian Islands going on from the coast of Siberia to 1000 miles of the coast of South America each fighting to stay on the surface. The water fall look as if they where a city of towers cared into the rock over flowing with water. The lake looks a painting that will reflect its surroundings in their true beauty.
    Under the water there are trees covered in algae like dead emperors bodes covered jade in there tomb. It looks like a whole new world with mountains, Valleys Rivers and seas made of algae this world people the fish. The algae make a huge fish lost in space and time.
    Poem
    The world of fish is truly a heaven that we will never access it is a city of amber shining in the water.
    A perfect city where each and every living thing is accounted for.
    The true beauty of this city is contain in its self

    Reply

  18. Posted by ec12 on December 15, 2010 at 2:07 am

    As I gaze at the mountain it looks like it is being lit on fire by the rays of the morning sun. The trees look like the string of the Hawaiian Islands going on from the coast of Siberia to 1000 miles off the coast of South America each fighting to stay on the surface. The water fall look as if it is a city of towers carved into the rocks over flowing with water. The lake looks a painting that reflects its surroundings in their true beauty.
    Under the water there are trees covered in algae like dead emperors bodies covered with jade in their tomb. It looks like a whole new world with mountains, Valleys Rivers and seas made of algae. In this world the people are the fish. The algae looks like a huge fish lost in space and time.
    Poem
    The world of fish is truly a heaven that we will never access it is a city of amber shining in the water.
    A perfect city where each and every living thing is accounted for.
    The true beauty of this city is contained in its self

    Reply

  19. Posted by ec21 on December 15, 2010 at 2:24 am

    I look down and see fish swimming in the crystal clear water. The trees surround me as I dip my toes in the water. They felt cold after dipping them in. I hear the crashing of the water at the bottom of the waterfall.

    the fish swim
    birds sing
    the water is calm
    trees are green
    the grass is green
    the trees are growing
    the flowers are blooming
    the sky is blue
    it’s Spring.

    Reply

  20. Posted by ec17 on December 15, 2010 at 3:17 am

    This is my journal entry from a poet’s point of view and a poem of Fairyland Paradise.
    This is my poem.
    Water falls as fast as a snowstorm.
    Flowers shake in the light breeze.
    Trees look like a mix of ice cream reflecting in the water.
    Algae under the water looks like a secret hide out.
    Mountains look like a huge trees towering over me.
    Fish swim gracefully in the calm water.

    This is my journal entry.
    As I sit on the bank of a river in Fairyland Paradise. I see the fish swimming in the calm water. The water glistens in the shining sun. The water moves freely down the stream. The trees sway softly in the light breeze. The birds chirp to wake the world from the long winter. I feel happy I get to visit such a beautiful place.

    Reply

  21. Journal Entry
    On the high mountains a little castle sits lonely.
    Foggy places with little peaks on top.
    Mountains look like land.
    Clouds looking down at the mountains
    Sunshine comes on to trees.
    Little streams running near trees.
    A river swishing.
    Green water like a sign of a forest nearby.
    Two trees on an island surrounded by a waterfall.
    A fish darting away from me.
    Yellow flowers spread out the forest.

    Poem Fairyland Paradise

    Mountains getting big
    Little rivers turn into waterfalls
    Crystal clear water
    Fish swimming near plants
    A land was waiting to be found
    A beautiful landscape was waiting to be found
    Beautiful trees covering Fairyland Paradise
    Painted flowers
    Autumn leaves beginning to grow through forests
    Fuzzy like corals
    Fish swimming away

    Reply

  22. In the mountains I see a giant sleeping. His nose cuts deep into the earth. And the rest of his body drifts off into the sky, leaving only his face. I climb down into the valley, where the trees are like a forest of green paint. When I climb up the rocky valley cliff and I get to the top, I see four mountains, high above the clouds. Then I hike down the mountain and I feel like an ant, because The mountains around me go high into the sky. As I walk in the center of this valley I come upon a river. And by the rock in the middle of the river it flows rapidly like a train. I walk along the side of the river, and when I poke my head through the trees, I see a waterfall. Its lowing just as rapidly as the river, except everywhere on the waterfall it is like a train. I walk up the hill next to the waterfall, And I see a crystal clear lake. It is so clear that you can see right down to the bottom. The trees look twice their size because the lake acts like a mirror. But the coral is like bones of a dinosaur.

    Poem
    The giant walks home for a nap.
    The ground trembles as he walks.
    He is as loud as a roaring lion.
    He smashes some of the trees.
    He makes an earthquake when he lies down.
    The giant pulls the trees over him for a blanket, before he falls asleep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

