Post Four: Changes

To be read after you have read chapters 9 – 14

How has Nolan changed throughout this book?  Give specific examples from the text on how Nolan has changed and how he stands up for himself as a result of becoming Shredderman.

57 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by EC12 on May 17, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Here are two times that Nolan (or Shredderman) stood up for himself:
    1. “I did my power-walk and got to school fast. And the same two kids who said, “Slow down, Nerd!” were hanging out on the front steps and they said it again.” Nolan really doesn’t like the nickname Nerd, so he decided to do something about it.
    2. When Freddy called Nolan “Nerd”. Text from the story, “Then Freddy came up from behind me and shoved my sholder. “Why are you just standing here, Nerd?” I caught my balance, then turned around and shoved him back. Hard.” Nolan really doesn’t like his nickname, Nerd, and he gains extra confidence from becoming Shredderman, so he actually did something this time, not just not doing anything. (I think that before becomming Shredderman, Nolan was a mix between a bystander and a person the bully is after. Now, he is actually taking charge.)

    I think that Nolan is really going to change bullying at his school for a very long time.

    Reply

  2. Posted by EC5 on May 17, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    After becoming Shredderman, Nolan finds a new light in him one that isn’t so shy and he starts standing up for himself, here are two times that Nolan (Shredderman) stood up for himself:
    1. Nolan hates the nickname “Nerd” so when he was “power-walking” as he calls it to school, two kids said “Slow down, Nerd” and he didn’t like being called that so he decided to do something about it.
    2. Nolan also doesn’t like being pushed around, and he stood up for himself when he got pushed this time “Freddy came up from behind me and shoved my shoulder…..then turned and shoved him back. Hard.”

    Shredderman gives Nolan an extra confidence when standing up to bullies and he is more self-confident now that Shredderman.com is in action and getting the word out about Alvin “Bubba” Bixby. Overall, Shredderman will have a BIG affect on the school bully.

    Reply

  3. Nolan has changed throughout this book by being popular (secretly), and by BEING the bully.

    Imagine feeling so sad because everyone treated you like a nobody, that you felt the urge to make a mean website about that person? Well, that’s exactly what Nolan did. He was so sick and tired of being bullied, that he felt the urge to make a mean website about that bully. He was afraid to stick up for himself. He was afraid to stick up for himself because he thought that Bubba would pound him, or hurt him badly.

    Here’s how he changed over the story…

    Popularity- He got popular by getting so many hits and comments. “ After I cleared the dishes, I ditched it back to my room. Computer on… still loaded… Shredderman.com was up to… seventy-three hits!

    BEING the bully- HE was being the bully by making fun of Bubba, and talking badly about him online. Well, I don’t actually have a text for this, but by making Shredderman.com, Nolan was talking very badly about Bubba and making fun of Bubba online, and that makes him the bully because he is talking meanly about in front of many, many people.

    Reply

  4. Great post EC 5 and EC12! I think that you gave a lot of details in your posts.

    Reply

  5. Posted by EC18 on May 18, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    I thought Nolan was being really truthful here, unlike he was with his Mom. ” ‘you don’t have to say a word’ he whispered, then put out his hand. I looked at him a minute, then shook it.” before this part he was saying he wasn’t Shredderman, but then, shaking his hand meant he was.
    In this part, it shows Nolan being truthful and different from when he didn’t want anyone to know he was Shredderman. ” ‘Nolan, let me be your sidekick’. A teacher as a sidekick? I laughed out loud. And I was about to say, Really? but he stopped me. ‘you don’t have to say a word’ he whispered, then put out his hand. I looked at him a minute, then shook it.”

    Reply

  6. Posted by EC1 on May 18, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Nolan stands up when two boys call him nerd and make fun of his fast walk on page 81 I found “”Don’t you ever have to get somewhere fast when you’re not supposed to run?” They both shrugged. Then Matt said, “But no way I’d walk like that.” “Well, it may look funny, but it works great. Anyway, call me Nolan, okay?” “Sure,” they both said.”
    Nolan has changed throughout the book on page 137 I found “For another, I feel different. Stronger. Smarter. Braver.”

    Reply

  7. Posted by ec7 on May 19, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I think that Nolan changed a lot in the story because he went from being a wimpy nerd to a strong, powerful, Nolan! I think that if he didn’t do it secretly, he would have never been able to do it at all because if nobody knew that it was him, he could do anything he wanted to that website without necessarily getting in trouble. I think that the relationship between Nolan and Mr. Green changed because at the beginning, Nolan was kind of a nobody on the outside but Mr. Green kind of helped him become Shredderman!

    Reply

    • Posted by EC14 on May 31, 2011 at 1:06 am

      EC7, I agree with you that Nolan used to be wimpy and then he was powerful as Shredderman. Nice blog.

      Reply

  8. Posted by ec10 on May 19, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    I think that throughout the year Nolan has changed a lot, and he stands up for himself more often. I think that he changed because at the beginning of the book it says- “We’re just trying to help you out grow your nickname, Honey. I looked at her. Than at my dad. You mean Nerd?”(Page 28).Then at the end it shows that he is more confident and can stand up for himself, I know this because the book says-“I…well, I stuck up for myself twice.” “Oh?” One of her eyebrows reached for the sky.(Page 106). Also he doesn’t get called nerd by these two sixth graders that kept calling him nerd, I know this because in the book it says-“Hi, Eddie. Hi, Matt. Please don’t call me nerd anymore, Okay? My name is Nolan”.(Page 82)

    Reply

  9. Posted by EC20 on May 20, 2011 at 1:31 am

    Here are a couple ways that Nolan has changed.

    1: Changing from Nerd to Nolan ” Only 2 people called me nerd and believe me, I set them straight.” Pg. 138

    2: Changing from project to project ” I could tell he was hoping it was about my project but didn’t want to risk guessing.”

    I think that Nolan changed a bunch of ways during this book.

    Reply

  10. Posted by ec 17 on May 20, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    Nolan changes from being a teased and bullied by practically everyone and being called “Nerd” to the type of kid who can stand up for himself to prevent being bullied. He also improved a lot in four-square which was probably because he grew more and more confident in himself and he also wanted to not get out more and people usually do better at something if they want to succeed. Throughout the book he changed to having more things in commend with other kids like when he decided that he couldn’t wait for recess like everyone else in the class. His opinion of Alvin a.k.a. Bubba also changed. He realized that bullies aren’t born mean after he saw Alvin’s father.

    Here are some examples of how Nolan stood up for himself:
    • He stood up for himself when people made fun of his “power walk”
    • He stood up for himself when he was called “Nerd”

    Becoming Shredderman was a big change for Nolan.

    Reply

  11. Posted by EC-4 on May 21, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    I think that the major change that happened to Nolan was that he went from being shy and feeling bad about himself to feeling good about himself. By becoming Shredderman, he felt brave and confident about himself. He uses his talents: being smart, knowing technology and climbing. Nolan says, “Inside I had lots of ideas that were cool and funny.” (pg 45). Being Shredderman let Nolan do brave things. “I couldn’t stop thinking about what I’d just done. How being Shredderman makes me do things that I’d only ever dreamed about before. Maybe I was banged up and scraped up, but I felt good. No, I felt great!” (pg 94).

    Reply

  12. Posted by EC8 on May 22, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Nolan has become bolder because when the book started he was just trying to stay away from Bubba. Now he has stood up for himself more than once. Here is one example.

    “Then Freddy came up from behind me and shoved my shoulder. “Why are you just standing here, Nerd?” I caught my balance, then turned around and shoved him back. Hard.”

    I think this time Nolan has started to become tougher because he has been bold enough to make a website about Bubba being a bully, so he is like ‘if I can make a website about Bubba being a bully, I can stand up for myself. Right?’

    Reply

  13. Posted by ec15 on May 23, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    One way Nolan has changed through the book is by his name. At the beginning of the book people called him Nerd and at the end of the book people called him Nolan (which is his real name). “Only two people called me Nerd all day,” he said at the end of the book.

    Another way Nolan changed is he feels different. He said, “For another, I feel different.
    Stronger.
    Smarter.
    Braver.”
    At the beginning of the book Nolan would have ignored people calling him names, but at the end of the book when two people called him names, he stood up for himself and set them straight.

    Reply

  14. Posted by ec 16 on May 23, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Nolan has changed by being really confident,brave and the bully.

    Nolan is sick of being called “Nerd” so when the two 6th- graders said “Slow down, Nerd” Nolan stopped and told them that his name was Nolan not Nerd. He became confident with playing four square.

    After becoming Shredderman he changed a lot !

    Reply

    • Posted by EC2 on May 25, 2011 at 12:06 am

      I really like your post especially “After becoming Shredderman he changed a lot!” great word choice.

      Reply

  15. Posted by EC22 on May 23, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    In the begging whenever a bully called him nerd he would just walk away now Nolan corrects a bully and tells them to call him Nolan not nerd and they listen to him. Before he became shredderman he used to be a normal person that got bullied now he is that little person that tells you to stop the bully instead of being bullied.

    Reply

  16. Posted by EC22 on May 23, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    In the beginning whenever a bully called him nerd he would just walk away now Nolan corrects a bully and tells them to call him Nolan not nerd and they listen to him. Before he became shredderman he used to be a normal person that got bullied now he is a person that tells other people to stand up for themselves. I think that Nolan changed a lot over the last chapters.

    Reply

  17. Posted by EC21 on May 24, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    He can stand up for himself
    By just ignoring them“I did my power-walk and got to school fast. And the same two kids who said, “Slow down, Nerd!”
    He said stop calling me nerd.

    Reply

  18. Posted by EC2 on May 25, 2011 at 12:32 am

    Nolan has changed by standing up for himself in three different ways. Putting up his website has given Nolan more confidence when standing up against someone.

    1. Nolan explained that his power walk lets him get to places fast without running, and it works great. ”’But it’s fast!’” and “’it works great’” Nolan told the two boys who laughed at the way he fast walked to school.
    2. Nolan also stood up for himself when he got called “Nerd”. “I took a step back and said, ‘You’re Freddy, I’m Nolan. Got it?’”
    3. The last time Nolan stood up for himself was when the two boys that made fun of his power walk called him “Nerd” and Nolan told them not to. “’Please don’t call me Nerd anymore, okay? My name’s Nolan.’”

    I think that the teachers will be more careful about bullying in later years to come because of what Nolan did.

    Reply

  19. Posted by EC9 on May 25, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    I think Nolan has changed by sticking up for himself in many different ways. He pushed someone back who called him nerd and then said his name is Nolan, not Nerd. This was the same situation when Nolan was “Power-Walking” to school. Some other mean kids (I wouldn’t call them bullies) were calling him Nerd because of that, so he went up to them and said: “My name is Nolan, not Nerd. Got it?” And the mean kids obeyed. This is a good thing for him to learn.

    Reply

  20. Posted by EC19 on May 25, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    Nolan has changed through the book by having more confidence about himself. When he made the shredderman website he had more confidence that he can make things change. Also when he made those kids stop calling him nerd he had more confidence that people would stop calling him nerd. I think he has also changed by being braver because he climbed to the roof and dropped those papers.

    Moments from the text when he stood up for himself are.

    “Then Freddy came up from behind and shoved my shoulder. ‘Why are you just standing here, Nerd?’

    I caught my balance, then turned and shoved him back.

    Hard. And before I could believe I’d done that, out of my mouth popped. ‘Nothing, okay, Pee-boy?’

    He blinked at me, then just stood there like I’d hit him with a stun gun.

    I took a step back and said, ‘You’re Freddy, I’m Nolan got it?’

    He nodded.”

    “‘Hi, Eddie. Hi, Matt. Please don’t call me Nerd anymore, okay? My name’s Nolan.”‘

    Reply

  21. Posted by ec3 on May 30, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    I think Nolan has changed throughout the book. In the beginning of the book he was called a nerd. By the end of the book, he’s called Nolan. In the beginning, he doesn’t stand up for himself. At the end he is braver. In chapter 9 Nolan asks Eddie and Matt’s names, because he doesn’t want to be called Nerd anymore. “Hi.” I said. “my name’s Nolan. What’s yours?” “Uh, Eddie.” “Uh…Matt.” “Hi, Eddie. Hi, Matt. Please don’t call me Nerd anymore, okay? My name’s Nolan.”

    Reply

  22. Posted by EC14 on May 30, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    In the book Nolan changes from being scared of being bullied by Bubba to feeling sad for Bubba and also feeling stronger, smarter and braver, like a superhero. He felt good after he climbed the building and through the papers all over the place because he finally accomplished something he thought he couldn’t do before. Another example is when Eddie and Matt called him Nerd her asked them to call him Nolan instead of Nerd and they responded.

    Reply

  23. Posted by ec13 on May 30, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    There where two ways Nolan changed :

    1.He learned to stand up for himself during the course of the book .Like when he said “my name is Nolan ” when those boy made fun of his power walk.

    2. He learned that every one can make a big difference .Like by making his Shredder man website.

    He learned all this after he made the website and boosted his moral.

    Reply

  24. Posted by EC6 on May 31, 2011 at 1:24 am

    On page 138 Nolan says “I feel different.
    Stronger.
    Smarter.
    Braver.
    Like a superhero should.”
    II used this part of the text because at the beginning of the book Nolan feels week and at the and it shows how he feels strong.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

